General Information

Republic of Cyprus

National name: Kypriaki Dimokratia—Kibris Cumhuriyeti

Land area: 3,568 sq mi (9,241 sq km); total area: 3,571 sq mi ()

Population (2008 est.): 792,604

Capital and largest city (2003 est.): Lefkosia (Nicosia) (in government-controlled area), 197,600

Monetary unit: Euro

Languages: Greek, Turkish (both official); English

Ethnicity/race: Greek 77%, Turkish 18% (each concentrated almost exclusively in separate areas); other 5% (2001)

National Holiday: Independence Day, October 1

Religions: Greek Orthodox 78%, Islam 18%, Maronite, other (includes Maronite and Armenian Apostolic) 4%

Literacy rate: 98% (2003 est.)

Economic summary: GDP/PPP: Greek Cypriot area (2007 est.): $21.41 billion; $27,100 per capita; Turkish Cypriot area (2007 est.): $4.54 billion; $7,135 per capita (2007 est.). Real growth rate: Greek Cypriot area: 3.9%; Turkish Cypriot area: 10.6%. Inflation: Greek Cypriot area: 2.3% (2007 est.); Turkish Cypriot area: 9.1% (2004 est.).

The third-largest island in the Mediterranean, Cyprus lies off the southern coast of Turkey and the western shore of Syria. The highest peak is Mount Olympus at 6,406 ft (1,953 m).

Cyprus was the site of early Phoenician and Greek colonies. For centuries its rule passed through many hands. It fell to the Turks in 1571, and a large Turkish colony settled on the island.

In World War I, at the outbreak of hostilities with Turkey, Britain annexed the island. It was declared a Crown colony in 1925. The Greek population, which regarded Greece as its mother country, sought self-determination and union (enosis) with Greece. In 1955, a guerrilla war against British rule was launched by the National Organization of Cypriot Combatants (EOKA). In 1958, Greek Cypriot nationalist leader Archbishop Makarios began calling for Cypriot independence rather than union with Greece. During this period, Turkish Cypriots began demanding that the island be partitioned between the Greek and Turkish populations.

Cyprus became an independent nation on Aug. 16, 1960, after Greek and Turkish Cypriots agreed on a constitution, which excluded both the possibility of partition as well as of union with Greece. Makarios became the country's first president.

Fighting between Greek and Turkish Cypriots flared up in the early 1960s, and a UN peacekeeping force was sent to the island in 1965. On July 15, 1974, Archbishop Makarios was overthrown in a military coup led by the Cypriot National Guard. On July 20, Turkey invaded Cyprus, asserting its right to protect the Turkish Cypriot minority. Turkey gained control of 30% of northern Cyprus and displaced some 180,000 Greek Cypriots. A UN-sponsored cease-fire was established on July 22, and Turkish troops were permitted to remain in the north. In Dec. 1974, Makarios again assumed the presidency. The following year, the island was partitioned into Greek and Turkish territories separated by a UN-occupied buffer zone.

Islamic History and Muslims

Islam in Cyprus was introduced when Uthman the 3rd Caliph conquered Cyprus in 649. Muslims were concentrated over whole area of Cyprus but after the 1974 events they are concentrated in Northern Cyprus.

Until 1974, Turkish Cypriots (the Muslim community of Cyprus) were the 18% of the island population. There are estimated 264,172 Muslims in Cyprus over 18% of the population. Several important Islamic shrines exist on the island including the Hala Sultan Teke/Um Haram Mosque in Larnaca and the Camii Semiliye and Camii Omeriye in Lefkosia/Lefkosa.

Most of the Turkish Muslim settled in Cyprus during the Ottoman rule 1571-1878. The Ottoman Empire gave timars--land grants--to soldiers under the condition that they and their families would stay there permanently. During the 17th century the Turkish population grew rapidly.

Hala Sultan Tekke or the Mosque of Umm Haram is a very prominent Muslim shrine near Larnaca, on the island of Cyprus. The mosque was described by the United Nations Development Programme in Cyprus as Islam’s third holiest site, after the Kaaba in Mecca and the Mosque of the Prophet in Medina. 


                                                          Lala Mustafa Pasha Mosque Famagusta Cyprus Famagusta ? U Saint Nicolas Cathedral was converted into a mosque after the Ottoman Empire captured Famagusta in 1571.

                                                     Selimiye Mosque Cyprus Nicosia ? U Originally constructed during 1209 and 1228 as the Saint Sophia Cathedral


Mosque, Larnaca


More Mosques in Cyprus

 Islamic Centers and Organizations

LARNACA OLD MOSQUE, Larnaca Marina, cyprus
Phone: 0035724665752

Al-Kabir Mosque, Limassol
Phone: 99103503 - 99478642

Al-Omariya Mosque, Nicosia
Phone: 0035799856680

Cyprus Islamic Guide, Limasol District
URL:   Phone: 0035799802459

Cyprus Islamic Guide amochostos, Ayia Napa
URL:   Phone: 00357-99841942

D.M CYPRUSCELL LTD, Ormidia, لارنكا
Phone: 00357-70008838

Phone: 357-99555149

Phone: 00357-99447513

Pak Rose Kiosk, Nicosia, Cyprus
Phone: 00357-99583426

Phone: 00357-96-606060

  Al-Kabir Mosque, Limassol
  Al-Omariya Mosque, Nicosia
  Grand Mosque Larnaca, Larnaca
  LARNACA OLD MOSQUE, Larnaca Marina
Mosque, Paphos

Cyprus Islamic Guide, Limasol District
  Cyprus Islamic Guide amochostos, Ayia Napa
  Lets Learn Islam, Pafos
World Islamic Call Society, Larnaca

   Muslim Owned Business

  Al Zahra Restaurant & Butchery, Larnaca
  Al-OMERIAH Hair Cutting Saloon, Nicosia
  Al-Zahra SuperMarket, Nicosia
  Aladdin restaurant, Nicosia
  ALMANAR NET 2, Nicosia
  Almanarnet, Nicosia
  Arabic/Greek/ English /Chinese Translations, Nicosia
  Baheej Exchange, Limassol
  Pak Rose Kiosk, Nicosia
Zaza Translation Ltd, Nicosia

Islam in Cyprus (   , September, 2008).
Info please (,   September, 2008).
Islam Finder (   , September, 2008).
World Religions Statistics ( , September, 2008).
Anonymous, Documents from Representatives of Islamic Organizations in Cyprus, September 2008.